PDA

View Full Version : Wind Arrow

Les MacDonald
12th May 2009, 09:22
I've been looking at a new wind turbine, the Wind Arrow, produced in Ontario by True-North, to replace our Lakota which has given up the ghost after only 3 years. The Wind Arrow (1kw at 26 mph) is designed to eliminate the need for mechanical furling with an electronic system for controlling the rpms above 30 mph and shutting down in storms. What I find attractive is the simplicity of the design and, with fewer moving parts, light weight, and potentially more durable in a gusty wind environment.
It hasn't been out long enough for any track record to be posted but I thought I would post here in case anyone might have thoughts on it.
Les

Rob Beckers
14th May 2009, 07:25
Hi Les,

The Lakota and Wind Arrow are both made by the same company. If the Lakota only lasted 3 years, what gives you confidence that the Wind Arrow will do better? I have no experience with either one, though I've heard good reports about the Lakota (maybe they weren't correct or the people I talked to didn't have them long enough). Just wondering why you would trust the same company.

-RoB-

Stewart Corman
14th May 2009, 09:02
Rob,
I have had some discussions with Dave at True-North about his new manufacturing venture. IMHO, I am in no way endorcing his new product line.

Let me first say that the Lakota was simply being imported from a Chinese vendor who migrated from Arizona (Aeromax) after being erroneously sued by Southwest. Dave had serious quality control issues, so negotiated to build under license in Ayr as a joint venture with the fabrication manufacturer of the in-house tower assemblies he was selling.

Then, all of a sudden, he comes up with a new upwind "patented" "design and "built in Canada" which looks nothing like the Lakota ...Oddly, it looks identical to a Efgen900 unit from Ireland....seems a bit disingenuous to me :

http://www.efgen.com/efgen900%20specs.pdf