PDA

View Full Version : This about that

Stewart Corman
12th February 2007, 17:09
I have been organizing thoughts and have made a few posts, but Rob asked me to open a new thread and present where I am at with HAWT (remember that this is a "work in progress"):

note: I am a mechanical engineer by trade and reliability testing, experimentation design was my expertise

basically, 3 bladed, stall regulated, simple blades based upon NACA4425 ...non-twist with high pitch angle

my "paradigm" is here:
http://www.geocities.com/scorman/turbine.html

The "experiment" is a 12inch benchtop setup.
Artificial wind creation has been a problem , but I am making progress (photos soon to be posted in above link)
Replication by molding of blades is a another difficulty.
details: http://www.geocities.com/scorman/experiment.html

"Wind" is ref section with the orig Allison Pop Science 1980 article on patented helix and a few more bits of info

"Turbine" section is photos of assembly pieces/fabrication of 10+ft experimental turbine ..it will have single/multiple rotors and adjustable (not dynamic adjustable) pitch

I have attached a "calculator" as an Excel file (sheet 1), so you can put in any WS, TSR, Diameter (replace the "?") and derive rpm, power avail, etc

blade calculations for diff stations for AOA and RE# are on sheet 2

Ultimate goal is a stall regulated 15 or 18foot multirotor helix turbine with three blades per rotor and two rotors capable of generating 2KW in low WS ie 10mph avg and 12.5mph rated design ...mechanical steering at 20mph.

All serious discussions encouraged (but not VAWT here!)

Stew Corman from sunny Endicott

Rob Beckers
13th February 2007, 08:21
Good stuff Stew!
Where is the scale experiment at right now? Did you built a multi-vane prop vs. a regular 2 or 3 bladed prop? What's the issue with producing 'wind'? If nothing else, you could mount it on a car.

-Rob-

Stewart Corman
13th February 2007, 11:27