PDA

View Full Version : Aurora inverters with a 17.5 Jake?

Jerry Giesler
2nd February 2008, 08:05
I have been on the phone and the internet with a number of people these last few days looking for an alternative to the Mastermind Controller for my Jake. Initially, I thought that using Windy Boys might be the ticket after reading an article about Victor Creazzi who did just that with a smaller 10kw Jake in Colorado. I had a good conversation with him yesterday about it. Then I talked to Emile at ARE and he e-mailed me back after he talked to Robert about our conversation. Robert suggested that the Aurora inverter may be a better option. Emile also gave me a link to Power One concerning the Aurora inverter. I talked to a gal named Jenny Ong at Power One and I asked her if the Aurora inverters can be stacked since they are only rated at 6000 watts. She said that you would have to use an isolation transformer. I don't understand how that works, but then, I'm not an electrical engineer. I have studied the info that I can find on the net about the Aurora inverters and that led me to this forum. I see that they use a "Wind Interface Box" in conjuction with the inverter. I am starting this thread to see if anyone here has any thoughts, insight, or comments as to the viability of using the Aurora inverters paired up to the Jacobs machines.

Rob Beckers
2nd February 2008, 13:07
Hi Jerry,

As you've probably read on the forum I use the Aurora inverters with the Scirocco wind turbine, and I'm a Power-One dealer. Before the 6kW Aurora came along, we used to stack two 3.6kW inverters together, with the isolation transformer Jenny mentioned. Never tried that with a pair of 6kWs, but it should work just the same. I've attached Power-One's own PDF on stacking inverters. The downside of the transformer is that you will be loosing a certain amount of power all the time (transformers have standby losses).