PDA

View Full Version : Line Loss Calculator

Rob Beckers
6th January 2007, 15:10
I've attached a small spreadsheet that calculates line losses for 3-phase AC type wind generators. It was written for the Scirocco wind turbine, but will actually work for any, by simply filling in the voltage and power of the alternator. I'm hoping one of the wind gurus on this list can review this, to see if it works correctly. While I'm an electrical engineer, my field is more in electronics than power electrics, so it would be good to have someone review it. Please also check if the notes I've added make sense. Possibly there are more things that need to be in there, useful tips, safety related items etc. Once I'm sufficiently sure it's working as it should I'll put it up on my Scirocco related Web site.

Besides having this reviewed, I thought it might be useful for others as well. Sizing the hookup wires for a wind genny is something that is frequently needed. My own rule-of-thumb is that a wire size that will give around 5% or less power loss should be fine.

By the way, the spreadsheet calculates power loss in the lines at full power (or whatever power number you fill in). I realize that actual power loss is less than this, as the bulk of the energy produced by a wind generator happens at less than rated power (usually much less). To fully calculate actual power losses one would have to incorporate the genny's power curve, and use the site's average wind speed together with a Weibull distribution (yet another approximation) to get to the line losses. This spreadsheet is intended as a quick tool to get to a realistic wire size, not a "precision instrument".

Thank you for any comments/corrections!

Here is the link to the wire gauge calculator. (http://www.solacity.com/Docs/Scirocco%20Wire%20Gauge.xls)

-Rob-

Rob Beckers
11th January 2007, 09:55