PDA

View Full Version : What VAWT has the best output for low wind conditions

Tim Smith
21st October 2010, 17:02
I'm new to this and hope this is the correct or accepted way of entering this forum. I recently attended the Wind Expo 2010 in Dallas. I saw some tremendous VAWT and HAWT examples.

My local regulations severely limit altitude at which a wind turbine can be erected, so it was an easy opt for VAWTs. I'm leaning toward a unit mfg. and marketed by Urban Green Energy, called Eddy. I would appreciate any input or suggestions from any of you out there. Thank you in advance. Tim

Ben Colla
21st October 2010, 19:08
How high can you go?
If you can't get above 30 feet (10 meters) stop right now.
If you live in an urban area, you probably can't go high enough.
What is your average wind speed?

Read http://www.greenpowertalk.org/showthread.php?t=12908

Tim Smith
21st October 2010, 20:10
Hi Ben,
Thanks for the reply.
I'm located in a small airport's traffic pattern and restricted to a limit of 10 meters elevation for new construction. At my house, the average wind speed is around 3.2 mph, measured by my home weather station and averaged over a 6 month period. Some seasons are a lot gustier, up to 55 mph gusts(not sustained) but from what I understand, gusty type wind is not preferred and the closer to the ground, that is what predominates. I like VAWTs, aesthetically, but have little experience around them. Tim

Ben Colla
21st October 2010, 20:31
10 meters = 33 feet (or so) This is the bare minimum of height for a tower. And you should really look at 15 meters, and preferrably 20 meters. But you can't do that. You can't exceed 10 meters.

3.2 mph is 1.5 m/s which is so low it's just not funny. Check http://www.otherpower.com/bottom_line.shtml and look at the chart. Pick 4 mph and see how much power there is. Basically, none. Really there isn't any power in Wind until you get to about 8 mph (3.5 m/s)