PDA

View Full Version : Help with a few Questions

Steve Tag
29th August 2010, 20:51
Hi, my name is steve I am a junior in highschool I go to trade school for electrical trades i learn more about the actual electrical wiring in our homes. I am having trouble picking a career path which ever way I go I am going to stick with it an do it for the rest of my life hopefully.

Recently I have been thinking about going to college to learn about designing "Green" power sources wind mills and hydro power mainly. I assume many of you have careers in this line of work. What kind of college courses would i take do colleges offer specific classes for this? I dont know what path i really want to take though. I am either going to be a union electrician or go for it and go to college.

Tom Rent
30th August 2010, 05:38
Hi Steve,

I am a retired electrical engineer. I think going to college will provide you many more opportunities and provide you more insight into specific specialties. Even a 2-year degree is good, you can always add to that.

For energy careers, understanding physics and electricity/electronics are key. Fluid dynmics is another course area I would recommend.

Good luck!

Steve Tag
30th August 2010, 23:31
well I was always interested in physics class. electron theory and the science behind how electricity works fascinates me too. We studied generators in my electrical class for a while and that was definitely my favorite section now that i look back. I am really into perpetual motion too.

Steven Fahey
9th September 2010, 11:19
well I was always interested in physics class. electron theory and the science behind how electricity works fascinates me too. We studied generators in my electrical class for a while and that was definitely my favorite section now that i look back...

Great! I felt the same way coming out of college.

...I am really into perpetual motion too.

Aw... you really had me going there.